Ohio Mortgage Lender license
Ohio Requires Mortgage Lenders to be Licensed
Ohio mortgage lender licensing: Ohio requires companies to be licensed as a Mortgage Lender. Companies must also still comply with federal, state and local laws. Other licenses or permits may be required depending on the nature of each particular business.
Certificate of Authority
With certain limited exceptions, an Ohio Certificate of Authority is required if a company does business in Ohio regardless of where the company is located.
A certificate of authority (also known as a certificate of registration) is a document that the State of Ohio requires companies not incorporated in Ohio to obtain before “transacting business” within the state borders of Ohio.
The filing fee for getting registered with the Residential mortgage lending act in Ohio is: $800 plus a fee for a background check.
The filing fee for getting a letter of exemption with the Residential mortgage lending act in Ohio is: $450 plus a fee for a background check.
The filing fee for a foreign limited liability company to register an Ohio Certificate of Authority is $99.
The filing fee for a foreign corporation to register an Ohio Certificate of Authority is $125.
Please note: While every effort is made to keep this information up-to-date, no guarantee is made or implied that the the fees stated above are current. Each state implements updates to their fees on their own time-table and a fee increase could be implemented since this information was last verified. Please call our office at 888-315-0805 to verify the latest fee schedules.
Do you want to check on other states’ requirements for obtaining a New mortgage lender license? Click here.